Is it a phase?

The past couple of nights baby boy has been waking up and talking to himself for an hour or more (sometimes two!).  Of course, being the light sleeper that I am I can’t sleep at all while he is awake until I know he’s back asleep.  Last night around 3:00 or 3:30 I heard him up again chatting with himself and so by 4am I had to go peak in his room to see what kind of party was going on in there.  I found him laying on his back with his hands behind his head staring at the ceiling.  What a little ham.  He saw me and started pointing at me.  I gave the little guy his paci and rocked him for a minute or two and put him back in his crib.  He of course didn’t go to sleep right away but proceeded to talk to himself.  By the time he did fall asleep I couldn’t.  It must have been 5:30 before I fell back asleep.  I woke up so tired this morning.  I don’t know if it’s just a phase, he’s super curious or if he gets too much sleep during the day but I can’t figure out why he can’t sleep at night.  He’s funny anyway.

2 responses to “Is it a phase?

  1. hey becky,

    jenny (from b.s. at mizzou) said their daughter did the same things. she would talk to herself for an hour or two at night sometimes. i’m sure it could be a lot of things….but one possibility is that he’s practicing his new-found verbal skills. has he been saying a lot more lately or at least trying? elise has been having a hard time going to sleep b/c she’s practicing pulling up. i think even if they’re tired their little bodies and brains want to practice these new, exciting skills. just a thought…who knows really? 🙂

    • Hey Heather,

      How is Jenny? You know that is probably true! He’s so curious and yes, he’s starting to repeat small words when we say them. Like the other day he said shoes, cheese, and two after we had said them, he also tried to say apple juice after I asked him if he wanted any. It’s kind of wild but cool too that he’s leaning all these new words. He chatters to himself all the time. I’m not sure what he’s saying but I think he knows what he is saying.

Leave a Reply

