Sleeping Baby Boy

Yes, my baby boy has been sleeping through the night since he was 12 weeks old.  After talking to mommies out there and realizing this is not always the norm I would like to tell you that it is extrememly possible.  Though he seems to have a laid back temperment I do not believe that he sleeps through the night just because he’s a good baby.  But I believe that he is a good baby because he does sleep through the night.  He gets enough rest and only awakens crying when he’s teething or has been woken up in some other way, noise, mommy wanting to go out, etc.  Otherwise my boy is all smilies.

Now, I do want to let you know that I used the principles from the book “On Becoming BabyWise.”  Now wait, before you prejudge and call Ezzo the devil, hear me out.  In fact before you prejudge which many already have – read the book.  After reading about infant sleep habits on babycenter.com and other such baby sites and hear women whining about how inhumane it is to let your child cry just stop right there and read the book.

I would like to let you know that the book is very good in principle.  It talks about Parent directing NOT scheduling.  I did not follow everything to the T in the book but I do believe that there are many miscommunications about this book.  Ezzo never tells people to let their children cry until they are dehydrated.  He never tells parents not to meet babies needs.  I confess I have occasionally let my child cry from time to time.  Often he’s overstimulated and if I let him cry for a short amount of time he will fall asleep.  Does this really make me a bad mother?  I don’t think so.  If my baby gets the sleep he needs he wakes up very happy and I am not exhausted.   And let me reiterate for those of you who may be freaking out I don’t let him cry all day or all night.  I watch the clock and let him cry for a short amount of time and I can often tell you exactly how long it will take for baby boy to fall asleep.

If you know my child you would know that he’s a very smiley, happy baby boy.  He is very content.  I have never done anything to hurt my child and yet,  he sleeps through the night.  Many of the parents I know that use Ezzo’s principles have children that are the same.  One of the best things to take from the book is the babies sleep-feed-wake cycles.  He doesn’t get dependant on eatting to get to bed.  He doesn’t wake up in the middle of the night.  And my baby is completely breast fed fokes. (Well, he’s on solids now but when he started sleeping through the night)  Some of the books out there will tell you that babies that are breast fed can’t sleep through the night that long.  That is not true.

Now, I think it is rather difficult to follow this book to the dotted i but principles are very good. And I wasn’t militant about it.  And I’m entitled to my opinion just as much as you are entitled to yours but I know that it worked and could give you a whole book of stories that it worked for others too.

I beg to differ as well that young children can’t get spoiled.  He’s was a totally different baby after the grandparents had visited.  He wanted to be held ALL the time or he’d cry.  Now don’t misconstrew what I said, yes, I hold my baby, I love him, I play with him but he isn’t spoiled. He’s content he loves waking up and talking to his animals in his bed or rolling around on the floor.  For other parents I know it has been the same.  So don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.  I’ve got the happiest guy on the block who has great nightime sleep habits.  He’s loved and cherished.   And for those of you who think Ezzo’s the devil I sure hope for your sake that your kiddos are sleeping through the night.  I don’t know about you but I can be a better mommy when I get the sleep that I need too.

2135213tzbl_sl500_aa180_

3 responses to “Sleeping Baby Boy

  1. Linsey Haden

    I totally agree! We followed most of the principals of the book and Adelyn has been sleeping through the night since she was 6 weeks old. She now sleeps from 9-9 (on the day I am home with her and don’t have to go to work. :)) She was also breast fed and slept through the night. It bugs me when people say breast fed babies can’t sleep through the night as it so isn’t true! She is very happy, only fusses when she really needs something or is overly tired/overstimulated. People always tell us how she is so happy and I think it is a lot just her as she was very laid back even in womb…but it probably doesn’t hurt much that she gets good sleep. 🙂 It also helps when you have a happy mommy and daddy because they get sleep as well. hehe Take care! Hey, and we are moving to Lincoln here in 3 weeks. Hopefully we will get to see you sometime!

  2. Well said! I used the principles of this book as well (not to the dotted i either) and it has worked so well with all 3 of my children. Each of them was a little bit different in how long it took them to reach the sleeping through the night milestone because of their individual personalities, but each of them is so well adjusted and healthy now because I believe they get the rest they need. And bonus…all of them can and will sleep for other people and in other envirionments/homes.

    While I was a servant to them in infancy, I was not a slave to their schedule. They adjusted to fit in with the family which is the ideal in my opinion. Children who get used to their parents being their slaves will treat everyone else in their life like that too. To me PDF (parent directed feeding) is the first step in helping our kids to have healthy behaviors and patterns for all of life, not just infancy.

  3. Congrats everyone. I have a 2 yr old boy, Isaac, who slept through the night at 2 mths plus. Now our 4 mth old baby Grace also started sleeping through the night at 2 mths plus.

    They are both very happy baby and similarly, there only cry as in really cry when they were over-stimulated, e.g we bring them out to church and somehow they did not get a good nap due to outdoor noises.

    Isaac is a very playful boy, and very energetic. He hates to sleep as he wants to play more. But schedule-wise, he has always been very consistent and predictable under normal circumstances. Even when he is in the process of dosing off, he would mumble “No. I want to play.”, when I ask him if he is tired (just for kicks). So when he is very distracted or interested in his surroundings, I will have to say in a stern tone, “Isaac, I need you to close your eyes and try to sleep now.” He will indeed close his eyes. Usually falling asleep within 5 – 10 mins. Sometimes when he does not, I sitll give him credit for trying.

    As for Grace, now, she usually cries up to a few mins, and then she will sleep through till it is time to wake up between every nap. She sleeps from 10:30pm to around 7am daily.

    I know many ppl would have a stereo-type thinking that my wife and I must have been heartless enough to militantly set the clocks, and let them cry till they last drop of energy is left, before they fall asleep.

    But hell no! We follow Ezzo’s teaching but not 100% of it as it clearly emphasizes applying it with context, seeing that the baby’s needs comes first. So we were cautious about not letting the baby feel unloved. In the earlier stages, when the routine has not fallen in place yet, if the baby cries, we would check the diaper, touch the forehead to check for temperature, then try feeding. If feeding does not work, it means the baby is not hungry. Then we would pat them for awhile, or cuddle for while, or stroke the baby’s back – give them physical affection. This is done because we do not want to baby to hurt the throat after prolong crying.

    Through time, the crying just got shorter and shorter and for Isaac, nowadays, of course he does not cry at all.

    The only thing I am not comfortable about is the “spanking” portion. I don’t condemn “spanking”. But I think that has to be the last resort. Every child’s character and temperament differ. Some children really does not require the “rod”. Another factor is, the adult parent executing “spanking” must be objective and he himself must be discipline at all times of execution to make sure, that no line is cross. Again the line is always a grey area, and very oftern, the parent’s own emotions and discipline and self-control is often the toughest part to resolve. So to most parents, I would say think twice, as I believe that once the line is crossed (grey area which most ppl find it hard to define), the psychological impact on the child is at stake.

    But on the whole, I am thankful for Ezzo’s materials, even I don’t follow 100%. It help us not forget about putting in intentional effrt for the marriage. And yes, I still have very vivid memories of my parents quarrelling during my childhood, whenever work, parenting and distractions took its toll on their marriage. I did not know how to feel or think then, but as I grow, these memories certainly molded my character in some ways, and also the relationship between my parents. And now I am on the road of “repairing” these relationships because, I know my children will watch me and model after me, how I treat and talk and relate to my parents. These I feel are lessons that can’t be taught or neither can’t it be unlearnt. It is often “caught” by our children. When they “catch it”, again they have to “repair” it with us in future. So the marriage is indeed a start of a legacy of security to our children.

Leave a Reply

